Applying to the Adoption Support Fund

The Adoption Support Fund (ASF) is available for all children in England who have been adopted from care up to age 18 or age 25 (if they have had a Statement of Special Educational Needs). To access the fund approach your Local Authority for a Needs Assessment. The fund replies to applications within 5 working days and opens up the possibility of accessing a huge range of different types of therapeutic support without delay.

Listed below are the contact details for each South London Adoption agency:

Bromley
Elaine Brady
elaine.brady@bromley.gov.uk

Croydon
Patricia Adams
patricia.adams@croydon.gov.uk

Greenwich
Yvonne Palmer
yvonne.palmer@royalgreenwich.gov.uk

Lambeth
Leanne White
ltwhite@lambeth.gov.uk

Lewisham
Kauser Malik
kauser.malik@lewisham.gov.uk

Southwark
The Advanced Practitioner for the Post Permanence Team Pauline Wedderburn on 020 7525 4460 or email pauline.wedderburn@southwark.gov.uk or contact the team Practice Co-ordinator Sharon Ajibade on 020 75253887 or e-mail sharon.ajibade@southwark.gov.uk

Wandsworth
Tracey Ogleton
togleton@wandsworth.gov.uk

WAF logo 200.pngWe are Family Southwark
…. is a local group of adopters who meet regularly with their children through a fortnightly playgroup and a monthly Family Saturday group. Prospective adopters are welcome, and they run their own monthly evening meeting for prospective adopters from all over London, where you can meet other people and hear from speakers on adoption related subjects.

We provide a welcoming space to chat, share experiences and useful information, all with a friendly cup of tea!

We also run an evening parent group. They provide a safe and confidential environment in which to reflect on adoptive parenthood with likeminded people. We offer support, but not advice. These sessions are for adoptive families only.

Our meetings are always informal, friendly and parent-led. We hope to meet you and your family soon.

To find out further details on venue, dates and times, please get in touch via one of the following:
Email: southwark@wearefamilyadoption.co.uk
Check out our blog: https://wearefamilyadoption.org.uk/blog
Follow us on Twitter: @wearefamilyadop

 

Pupil Premium: Was your adopted child formally a ‘looked after child’ and adopted on or after 30 December 2005?
 
To enable your child’s school to claim the Pupil Premium, you will need to inform the school about your child and provide supporting evidence, for example, show the school the original Adoption (Court) Order. You will need to self-declare before 16 January 2014 which is the date schools complete the annual School Census.  This will then trigger the payment of the Pupil Premium to the school from April 2014.  More information can be found at: (link to Q&A).

Are you parenting a Black or Mixed Race Child?

Would you like to meet other parents?

The www.100bml.org (100 Black Men) run a parent support network with a structed programme dedicated to parenting.  They also run a group based mentoring programme for children over 10.